Lipidomics Session

Chair Biography

Dr Oliver (Oli) Jones is a senior lecturer in analytical chemistry at RMIT University in Melbourne, Australia. He obtained his PhD from Imperial College London in 2005, and then worked as a postdoc in the department of Biochemistry at the University of Cambridge and later as a lecturer in the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences at the University of Durham (teaching chemistry to engineers at the latter). He is currently president of both the Australia and New Zealand Metabolomics Network and Proteomics and Metabolomics Victoria, secretary of the Australian and New Zealand Society for Magnetic Resonance and a member the Australian Academy of Science, National Committee for Chemistry and the Australian Centre for Research on Separation Science (ACROSS). His group conducts research in new analytical methods and technologies, particularly in multidimensional chromatographic techniques, for a range of applications including environmental food and forensic chemistry and he has a particular interest in metabolomics. When not in the lab he enjoys long distance running and cycling and triathlon.

Chair Contact Email

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


  • Dr. Oliver Jones from RMIT - "Novel fluorescent tags for HPLC analysis of fatty acids using UV detection"
  • Dr. Anthony Don from University of New South Wales - "Defective myelin lipid biosynthesis in pre-clinical Alzheimer's Disease identified through LCxMS/MS analysis"
  • Dr Baljit Ubhi from Sciex - "Solutions to Advance your Metabolomics Research"
  • Dr Thusitha Rupasinghe from Bio 21 Institute - "Art of mass spectrometry techniques for identifying lipid species incorporation with isotopic labeling"
  • Dr. Paul Baker from Sciex - "Lipid Biomarkers: From Discovery to Quantitation"
  • Up Coming Events

    Chair Contact Details

    Professor Andrew Shalliker

    University of Western Sydney


    Thank You

    We would like to thank the session chairs and speakers for making this symposium possible.