Monoliths Session

Chair Biography

Prof. Brett Paull is a B.Sc., Ph.D., and D.Sc. graduate of the University of Plymouth, U.K. He currently employed as a New Stars Professor, and Director of the Australian Centre for Research on Separation Science (ACROSS) at the University of Tasmania. ACROSS is a multi-institutional Centre, with partner nodes at the University of Western Sydney and Monash University, and a total membership of over 85 researchers. Prof. Paull’s research interests lie in the area of new materials and composite phases for application in the analytical and environmental sciences. A major driver of his research is to expand the current boundaries of analytical science, developing new technologies and analytical approaches to enable greater qualitative and quantitative exploration of our chemical and biological environment. Prof. Paull is also currently a CI within the ARC Centre of Excellence for Electromaterials Science, leading the theme of Electrofluidics and Diagnostics. Since 1993, Prof. Paull has authored/coauthored over 200 refereed publications, including 160 peer-reviewed journal papers.

Chair Contact Email

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


  • Dr. Dario Arrua from University of Tasmania - "Synthesis and characterisation of ordered monolithic structures"
  • Prof. Sebastiaan Eeltink from Free University of Brussels - "Nanostructured porous polymer monolithic columns for capillary liquid chromatography of biomolecules"
  • Dr. Sinead Currivan from University of Paradubice - "HILIC polymethacrylate monolithic columns prepared using a secondary surface polymerization"
  • Dr Damian Connolly from Waterford Institute of Technology - "Development and characterisation of switchable polyaniline-functionalised flow-through capillary monoliths"
  • Prof. Brett Paull from University of Tasmania - "Polymer monoliths in titanium ‘printed’ columns"
  • Up Coming Events

    Chair Contact Details

    Professor Andrew Shalliker

    University of Western Sydney


    Thank You

    We would like to thank the session chairs and speakers for making this symposium possible.